Helga

I have a spider living in my driver’s side mirror.

She (thanks to Charlotte’s Web, I tend to assume spiders are female) is ugly, brown, and very industrious. When she draws her legs up to her body, the entire assemblage looks like a very small head of Cthulhu.

She is also tenacious: when I first discovered her on Monday night, I took the car on the interstate in an attempt to shake her off. What I ended up doing was taking my spider on a lovely night tour of my city.

I had planned to squash her the next morning, but she was still in the mirror, hadn’t completely covered my door in web, and, most importantly, would make a real mess on any shoe employed for the task. So instead she gets to be called Helga, and I get to feel imaginary bites all over myself every time I look at her or think about her too much.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. whiskers09092006
    Aug 04, 2011 @ 11:27:30

    http://twolumps.net/d/20050909.html

    *hugs* I know exactly how you feel…

    Reply

    • Jennifer Alexandra
      Aug 04, 2011 @ 12:07:27

      That’s it! My thing about ticks is even worse. I don’t think I’ve actually seen one in years (indoor pets ftw!), but whenever someone says “tick,” I itch randomly for about two hours.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

