The World Isn’t Flat, And These Aren’t Either

A couple of things have had me thinking about shoes lately.

This is not a normal state for me. I know, I’m going to have to turn in my Stereotypical Girl Card, or at least the three shreds left after I purchased a Nick Nolte movie on DVD*. I’m hard on my shoes, thanks to a combination of fidgeting
and a tendency to crave suede in times of flooding, and so I usually buy them at thrift stores.

Yesterday, while preparing to move, I uncovered a pair I paid full price for–one of those cute espadrilly flats that were popular last year. They’ve been worn once. And that, plus a few posts I’ve been seeing on feminist-type blogs about kids wearing high heels, have started me thinking.

I didn’t wear heels till a few years ago, an aversion that was a leftover of being the second-tallest kid in junior high. After I started experimenting with heels a little, I went on a trip to DC in which a friend and I walked around the Zoo all day and then met up with her friends and walked near DuPont Circle for dinner. When I settled in for the night I had a pain in the bones of my left toes that made me scream if I touched the area.

I was wearing my sensible hiking boots at the time.

After that, the pain came back a lot. I’d have my shoe off under my desk at work, bending my toes down against the floor, trying to make it stop hurting. I stopped hiking. And I started noticing that when I wore an elevated heel, I didn’t have the pain. And so I haven’t worn my hiking boots in years, and as much as I liked those espadrilles, they didn’t like me back. My point is, not everyone who wears heels is trying to be girly. Some of us like to walk more than a quarter-mile without having to stop and do an impromptu foot massage.

Last year I found a pair of cute ballerina flats in Goodwill. They were black leather and $2.50. I took them into the dressing room and they fit perfectly. They looked great. I took a few steps, rocked back on my heels…and when I rocked forward onto my toes, heard a godawful crunching sound.  I believe the toebone-to-English dictionary translates that as “I like clunky boots.”

*Hey–Clancy Brown was in it. If you’re going to look at me funny, at least do it for the right reasons.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Natalie
    Jul 18, 2008 @ 11:19:00

    About a year ago, I decided to see exactly how far it was from the Zoo to DuPont Circle. It's like 2 miles. Which isn't that far. Why on earth did it feel like a frigging death march?Also, you should go to a doctor and have them look at your foot–that sounds like there's something misaligned or otherwise out of whack.

    Reply

  2. Apostrophina
    Jul 18, 2008 @ 11:28:00

    Yeah, but how many miles is to wander the National Zoo on the fruitless Komodo dragon quest as well?Yeah, I ought to, but really, wearing 1-inch heels doesn't seem like such a rotton fate. Still annoyed about the ballerina slippers, though. And it's not as if my toes crack while I wander the house in my socks. Weird.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

