Terms I Just Made Up, Part IV

Term: Amkeysia
Category: Daily life

When you’re forward-thinking enough to get your key ready before you have to open a door, but it’s the wrong key. In my case, usually reserved for days I seem to labor under the delusion that my car key will open anything. This afternoon, I trumped that by trying to use my work key-fob to get into my apartment.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. math
    Jul 03, 2008 @ 08:38:00

    A great commentary – I am sure you meant it that way – on politics and pop culture.
    Got yer favorite key? Maybe lower taxes? Push it into any keyhole! Maybe yer favorite key is drugs or sex or maybe legislating morality. Whatever it is, push it into every keyhole.
    Thanks.

    Reply

  2. Apostrophina
    Jul 03, 2008 @ 08:45:00

    I had a slightly different symbolic take on the whole thing–the car key is by far the biggest and fanciest-looking, so it's the one I automatically turn to even when it isn't actually right.

    Reply

  3. KatharineGrate
    Jul 03, 2008 @ 19:23:00

    When I find myself pushing one of those buttons on my fancy car key and waiting for the front door to spring open like the trunk does …. then I'll be really worried!

    Reply

  4. whiskers
    Jul 03, 2008 @ 19:34:00

    For me it's usually the apartment key trying to open the mailbox. I'll get all the way down three flights of stairs holding the apartment key out in front of me. Then look down at the whole set and have to switch keys after trying to shove it in a time or two. Hopeless…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

