Fly On The Wall

I just saw this story about the Catholic Church’s Roman diocese refusing to let Angels & Demons film in two of its churches, And while I am no fan of censorship, I can’t help but wonder how that meeting went.

In my head, I know no one said “Come on, your Excellencies! All we want to do is film a few little scenes with hideously tortured clergy as pawns of a plot to undermine the very underpinnings of your faith! What could go wrong?” But my heart wants to believe! (Then again, my heart also wants to believe the manuscript for the novel was somehow turned into a book in a freak accident, because clearly when a middle-aged teacher walks into your office with a novel about a middle-aged teacher who saves the world and ends up with the hot babe physicist/yogini, enthusiastic publication is not the correct response.)

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

