Blackguards!

So far I’d been loving the Sherlock Holmes box set I got for Christmas (now with more power to recognize guest stars– Robert Addie from Robin of Sherwood among them!).  I also appreciated the attempt, at least, to stick to the stories as God and Conan Doyle intended them; I love Basil Rathbone to death, but Holmes has no business fighting Nazis.

It was with great annoyance, then, that I discovered the show’s Powers That Be had conflated two tales late in the series’s run and joined “The Mazarin Stone” and “The Adventure of the Three Garridebs” in unholy matrimony.  And in doing so, removed one of my favorite Holmes moments ever from the latter story: Watson is wounded by a villain with a revolver.

…my friend’s wiry arms were around me and he was leading me to a chair.
“You’re not hurt, Watson? For God’s sake, say that you are not hurt!”
It was worth a wound–it was worth many wounds–to know the depth of loyalty and love which lay behind that cold mask.  The clear, hard eyes were dimmed for a moment, and the firm lips were shaking.  For the one and only time I caught a glimpse of a great heart as well as a great brain.  All my years of humble but single-minded service culminated in that moment of revelation. (“The Adventure of the Three Garridebs,” Arthur Conan Doyle)

Even with little romance (your fanfic mileage may vary), it’s one of the best love scenes I’ve ever read. Jeremy Brett could have acted the living hell out of that, too.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

